Song Review: Sunshine Of Your Love- Cream

It’s been a while since the last time I have posted anything, I do feel horrible for that. I have been so busy with so much school work (Sophomore year reeks). Since I was listening to this song and I quite liked it I thought… “well why not share it with the net?”.

I wouldn’t consider myself a complete Cream obsessed genius, I wish I was, because I appreciate their music just as much as The Who. “Sunshine Of Your Love” is probably one of their most popular songs and even if you say you’ve never heard of this band once you listen to the constant riffs that continue on through the song I bet you that you’ve probably heard it somewhere before. The chords are simple and easy, not much to it… (I can’t play an instrument, but they surely do sound easy)

It was defiantly one of the most remarkable songs that the 60’s have to offer us. Funny enough, the riff that runs through the song was written by Jack Bruce right after attending The Jimi Hendrix Experience concert in London. This is why I guess when listening back on this song we can actually hear the influence that Jimi Hendrix had on this song through the guitar riffs. With the quite sensual chords.

The lyrics are really poetic as we can see “It’s getting near dawn, when lights close the tired eyes. I’ll soon be with you my love.” The song lyrics were created during a ‘creative session’ with Jack and Pete and as we can see this session really benefited them as the song soon became a huge success shortly after it was released in 1968 and became Cream’s gold-selling single in the U.S.A. The song had ranked up to number 5 in the U.S billboard charts in the year 1968.

Cream are one of the most legendary bands from the U.K along with The Beatles and The Who and this song just shot them to even more fame. No wonder they were so successful with Eric Clapton as their guitarist, pretty prestigious I must say.

Leave a Reply

